Sei Still (Fuzz Club Records) share single “Me Persigue” ahead of new album “El Refugio”

Mexican five-piece Sei Still are today sharing ‘Me Persigue’, the second single to be lifted from their incoming ‘El Refugio’ LP that’s due out November 26th on Fuzz Club. The new album, which arrives following their 2020 self-titled debut LP, marks a number of changes for the band. Not only have they upped sticks and moved from Mexico City to Berlin, but their sound has undergone a process of evolution too. Where the debut LP was an exercise in mesmerising Krautrock channeling the likes of Neu! and Can, ‘El Refugio’ keeps hold of that motorik pulse but trades the debut’s more expansive and hypnotic tendencies for a collection of dark post-punk vignettes.

Taking cues from Spanish New Wave, new single ‘Me Persigue’ (translating from Spanish as ‘Haunts Me’) is described by the band as “A song about the feeling of being haunted or chased by yourself.” A bassline as propulsive as it is melodic drives the two minute ‘Me Persigue’ in a breakneck forward-motion and acts as a rhythmic foundation for wiry post-punk guitars and frontman Lucas Martin’s anguished Sprechgesang vocals (which break occasionally into exasperated yelps.) The track follows last month’s ‘Extrarradio’ single and Sei Still’s first ever UK headline tour, which they wrapped up just last week.

About The Author