South African Rockers Fourth Son South release “The Sounds Around Your Head”


Hot on the heels of their EP (Another Mile – released in April 2020), Pretoria-based Overdrive Rock ‘n Rollers Fourth Son South is back with their first full length album The Sounds Around Your Head.
The album is now available on Bandcamp and will be available on all Streaming Platforms from Saturday 7 November.

Bandcamp https://fourthsonsouth.bandcamp.com/releases

The Release Party will be at Jarr Bar in Pretoria this Saturday 7 November

The album consists of 11 original songs (and one cover) written by lead vocalist and guitarist Peter Toussaint as a way to fight depression because of the lockdown. All songs were recorded and produced at the Boathouse Studio. The album boasts a well-balanced arrangement of rock songs with hints of funk, blues and even reggae.
The video for “They Run, We Hide” was posted online on 21 August with great support https://tinyurl.com/video-they-run-we-hide


  1. Positive (3:40)
  2. Reflections (3:36)
  3. They Run, We Hide (4:35)
  4. Nothing Left To Say (4:17)
  5. Home (3:11)
  6. Come Together (3:16)
  7. Livin’ the Life (3:32)
  8. Reminiscing (4:05)
  9. Magical People (3:10)
  10. Dregs of the Blues (3:25)
  11. Information (2:57)
  12. Playing in the Yard (4:56)

Fourth Son South is a fresh band from South Africa, albeit far from new, as the members all have heaps of experience. The band was formed by Dutch born Peter Toussaint, a maestro on guitar. After bringing out his solo album One Day in 2018, Peter brought together bass player Franco Jamneck and drummer Carel Viljoen. As a three piece they toured for a while under the name Peter T Band. At the end of 2019, the band recorded their first EP called Another Mile under the name Fourth Son South. This was released in April 2020, just as the world turned to lockdown with Covid-19. During lockdown, Peter wrote and recorded a bunch of songs that now form the basis of their first full length album titled The Sounds Around Your Head. Fourth Son South also recruited guitarist Dale McHardy to perfect the live sound.

Franco Jamneck (Bass Guitar & Vocal Harmonies)
Dale McHardy (Rhythm Guitar)
Peter Toussaint (Lead Vocals & Lead Guitar)
Carel Viljoen (Drums & Vocal Harmonies)

About The Author