Canada’s Hunting Giants release new video “King of Ashes” in support of their latest album “Mythos”

Canada’s Hunting Giants are offering up their next video “King of Ashes” in support of their latest album “Mythos” released this past September. The album’s closer is an epic industrial ballad that is reminiscent of both Nine-Inch-Nails and King Crimson. The vocals ponder on the futility of victory at all costs as the percussion and instruments chase each other in polyrhythmic complementation. A constant yet subtle feedback loop heightens the vocals until they crescendo in a final lament, “Oh, to be the King of Ashes.” In finality, the album comes to a close and fades out with the ringing of a gong.

Watch and listen to “King of Ashes” via its premiere on TheProgSpace HERE.

“Mythos” is the crowning achievement of Hunting Giants‘ many years of musical work, writing and recording while gigging and enduring quarantine as a band during the Covid pandemic. The members of Hunting Giants all came from, and are inspired by, progressive rock and metal bands where songs would often pass the ten-minute mark. However, they desired to keep their own music concise and to the point, intentionally lacking much of the excess material that so often padded run-times of songs in the progressive rock-metal genre. Simple and clean lines are given priority over complicated abstractions that only challenge the player in an athletic way, provided that it serves the music.

Hunting Giants is confident that new listeners, as well as those familiar with them through their previous release “Skyward Eyes”, will find an accomplished intensity and listenability in “Mythos”, which represents their musical growth and evolution. Each of the thirteen songs was specially picked for the album to contribute to the overarching story in a theatrical and energetic manner. With riffs that will inspire and lyrics that will mystify.

“This album is musically very diverse as it ranges from intense white-knuckled metal tracks, down to gentle instrumental tracks peppered with melodic piano and haunting cello, all the way to epic ballads tastefully complimented by choirs, strings, and bells. Mythos lyrically explores archetypes, both heroic and villainous, that affect the world around us, as well as the inevitable fates which arise when these values are heinously held and expressed.” adds the band.

Hunting Giants is recommended for those who enjoy a 90s vibe and progressive elements, especially fans of Alice In Chains, Soundgarden, Tool, and Audioslave.

“Mythos” is available on CD and digital at the following links:

CD order – https://huntinggiants.com/product-category/mythos-albums/

Digital – Huntinggiants.bandcamp.com, Apple Music, Spotify.

Previous music videos can be viewed on Hunting Giants‘ YouTube channel HERE.

Track Listing:
1. Mythos – 3:28
2. Ancient Text – 3:18
3. Too Big To Kill – 3:06
4. Rituals – 3:57
5. Among Thieves – 5:28
6. Whispers – 2:16
7. Vanguard – 2:54
8. Mantle – 3:19
9. Kindred – 4:05
10. Epitaph – 1:09
11. Into Stone – 4:55
12. Remnant – 4:00
13. King of Ashes – 2:52
Album Length: 44:49

Hunting Giants is:
Corey Wharton – Bass Guitar
Stephen Atkey – Vocals
Bradley Trivett – Guitar
Daniel Beavington – Drums

About The Author