Vexing premiere new song “Shallow Breath”

Progressive sludge trio VEXING have released a new song off their upcoming full-length debut, Grand Reproach. The band has tapped metal webzine Veil of Sound for the exclusive premiere of “Shallow Breath.”

The band had this to say about their newest single, “This song encapsulates the last few years for us. Lyrically, its describes the anxiety we were all personally dealing with at the time. Sonically, it captures manic listlessness with abrupt changes of pace and warping timbral shifts. We each firmly believe in this song as it represents a space in time for us. Creating it was its own sort of reward after burdening some not so great things.”

Stream “Shallow Breath” now at this location.

Just when you thought sludge metal couldn’t get any more outlandish or challenging, Colorado’s VEXING comes along. The band’s upcoming full-length debut, Grand Reproach, takes an already progressive and experimental sound to the next level with eight mind-scrapingly intense new songs.

Ordovician Records will release Grand Reproach on CD, cassette, and digital formats on May 26. Pre-order at ordovicianrecords.bandcamp.com.

Grand Reproach track listing:

1) The Mold

2) Vanquishing Light

3) The Invisible Hand

4) Shallow Breath

5) Howling

6) Blunderbuss

7) Small Black Flame

8) Red Skies

Active since 2017, VEXING is a progressive sludge trio that doesn’t make the most soothing music. But that’s all by design.

With influences stemming from sludge acts like Yautja, and Inter Arma but also from more progressive acts like Russian Circles and even Rush – the music is a certain grinding brand of sludge that reaches towards a more dynamic sound.

The 2020 Ep Cradle captures an earlier era from the group, whereas the newest release Grand Reproach looks to change that sonic landscape

with striking guitar tones, fiercely spirited drums, and mercilessly relentless riffs, all on top of an undulating and frightening ambiance.

It’s an enveloping and obtuse experience that’ll leave you engaged with that tension you’ve always had.

Grand Reproach was written and produced by VEXING (Clayton Whitelaw, Garrett Jones, Jeff Malpezzi). The album was mixed and mastered by Mikey Allred from Dark Art Audio. Artwork by Ethan Lee McCarthy / Hell Simulation, with layout/design by Andrew Notsch.

About The Author